Over 250 Communities Nationwide Designated SolSmart!

SolSmart has surpassed a historic milestone! Over 250 municipalities, counties, and regional organizations have received a SolSmart designation for making it faster, easier, and more affordable to install solar locally. The 250th designation, earned by the Northern Virginia Regional Commission, was among a flurry of over 25 communities designated in past months.

As of today, there are 265 SolSmart designees across 37 states and the District of Columbia that represent 71 million Americans. Recent designees include San Francisco, California; Miramar, Florida; and St. Anthony Village, Minnesota. Illinois now leads the nation with 41 SolSmart designees, followed by California (26 designees), Colorado (21 designees), Florida (20 designees), Minnesota (19 designees), Massachusetts (14 designees), Texas (11 designees), and Missouri (10 designees). Across the country, recent SolSmart communities have taken bold actions to become more resilient, sustainable, and attractive to solar businesses that can drive job growth and economic development. Here are a few highlights:

If you’re interested in learning more about SolSmart technical assistance or the designation process, request a no-cost consultation here